Coronavirus Update

The U.S. biopharmaceutical industry is working closely with U.S. government agencies, the World Health Organization and governments around the world to identify their most pressing needs in the areas of vaccination, diagnostics, and antivirals and other treatments, and to facilitate collaborations with industry.

To learn more about what the biopharmaceutical industry is doing to combat the virus and for a host of information and helpful resources (FAQ’s, CDC Information Hub, Safety Tips, etc.)

Executive Committee

Richard Giersch - Chairman

CEO, Valtari Bio

Director, WVU Innovation Center

John Maher, Ph.D. – First Vice Chair

Vice President for Research, Marshall University

Executive Director, Marshall University Research Corporation

Melissa Watkins - Secretary
Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC

Deron Johnson – Assoc. Member Rep

Director, State Government Affairs



Anne Barth 

Executive Director

TechConnect West Virginia

John H. Brown, Jr.
Brown Communications LLC

Jeffrey P. Smith, Ph.D.
VP, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Mylan Laboratories, Inc.

Jagan Valluri

Chief Operating Officer


Allie Karshenas, Ph.D.

Associate VP of Clinical Operations & Institutional Advancement

West Virginia University

Todd Davies, Ph.D.

Director, Research Development & Translation

Marshall Clinical Research Center

Executive Director

Bryan Brown

PO BOX 20065 | Charleston, WV 25362 | (304) 546-5500